Gallop & Soar

Mom Le: I always ask myself why you’re constantly moving and constantly searching for something within your travels. Do you know what the word “Phi” means in Vietnamese?

Me: Yes. It means, “To fly, to soar.”
Mom Le: Exactly. And I picked your name from the Bible. Do you know what “Phillip” means?
Me: Yes. “Phi” is Greek for love and “lip” is horse.
Mom Le: Yes. I’ve destined for you to soar and gallop always.

For those of you who don’t know (or missed out on my overabundant postings on every social media channel) I’ve been traveling with Matthew Smith, founder of the Spaces Between Your Fingers Project (SBYF Project) up along the North Eastern seaboard. As previously noted, the interactions amongst strangers and fellow creative organizations have been overwhelmingly positive. It reminds me of the Sagmeister Happy Show in that he suggested everyone take a sabbatical toward rejuvenation. While the constant process of meeting new people is wearing, the feeling is akin to an extremely productive session of physical exercise. Fatigue sets, but the endorphins after creating lasting connection with people are high.

My mother always wondered at my itch toward travel and meeting new people. She was surprised at my excitement to study abroad when I was 14. By 29, she smirks when I tell her that I’m off to meet 10,000 strangers in 100 days to help collect a snapshot of the collaborative sum of American culture. It’s funny, because my mother traveled half way around the world for freedom and opportunity. So in a way, despite her beam, she knows I’m seeking the same. She set for American shores, then destined me to soar and gallop across the country to find its narrative. While my mother continues to smile, I wonder what she’s destined for me next.

2 thoughts on “Gallop & Soar

  1. I’ve never underestimated the power of a name, as you may very well imagine! I always made up the meaning for my name, since it is a made up name. I guess that’s why I’m still figuring out what my role in this world is. I’m loving the blog so far!

Leave a comment