Limbo

It’s 8am and I’m typing in a bed. A bed. The sheets feel more like linen than cotton on my feet and wrapped around me is my shirt infused with yesterday’s sweat between the threads. This, my friends, is bliss.

Though, there are different kinds of bliss. There’s something to cherish about sore feet after a day full of walking, a pride one can only get from a bit of wear and tear. The constant displacement from new town to new town is refreshing; drinking in all the new details, losing myself in them, it’s a wonder I remember which day of the week it is (it’s Wednesday right?)

I’m currently working in Photoshop for the SBYF Project Blog along with creating our upcoming newsletter (exciting stuff coming your way!), and so translating the disparate thoughts, sketches and murmors I’ve recorded in my sketchbooks along the way will have to wait. I want to talk about the bittersweetness of seeing old friends and the surreal passage of time it invokes. I want to mention the delight when I get a brief smell and taste of sea water on my lips. I want to write about the process of creating a new website, bit by bit before I go to bed, or about hiking two miles across center city Boston while sandbag carrying my gear. I want to share how passionately in love I am with America and its artistic communities, how it makes me want to march right up atop one of these mountains and just shout my devotion. I want to declare how proud I am of every library in every community and the shiver I get when I walk into one with Matt, present the project and see the person on the other side of the counter wipe away the dust that got into her eye. I want to share how I’m moved when I nod at the passerby and he nods back with a smile.

Instead I’ll let the few photographs below do the talking for me.

Portland Public Library: every library we’ve stopped in is fantastic. Truly, libraries are the cultural hubs of a community. Absolutely worth cherishing.
Cycling Around: We gave our feet a break and borrowed some bicycles to zip around the large number of artistic centers of Portland.
White Mountains, NH: After leaving a writing workshop in Conway, NH, we accidentally slank South. The issue? We would’ve preferred to take the scenic (and direct route) over the White Mountains. Instead? Since there are only three roads west from here, we had to completely circumvent south.
Sandwich Road: The long detour did gift us this beautiful view.
Sandwich General Store: Thank you sprawling Sandwich for your hidden gems and the temptation-from-afar view of Squam Lake.

Leave a comment